28.90 лв.


7″, printed sleeve, housed in a resealable plastic jacket.

By the end of the 1970s, WITCH was a Zambian music institution. Active since 1972, they had survived the Zamrock years and left an impressive garage, psych and prog discography in their wake. But at the outset of the 1980s, the band was ready to embrace the modern sounds of a new era. Undertaking personnel changes and relocating to Zimbabwe, they were primed by the independence celebrations of their neighbouring country to undertake their mythical transformation into an African disco powerhouse.

With access to a state of the art recording studio in Harare, WITCH produced two exquisite albums in the early 1980s. Appearing in 1980, Movin’ On was preceded by the single “My Desire,” which featured new member Christine Jackson on lead vocals. With an upfront funky bass-line, falsetto backing vocals, swirling synths and tight horns, it was a searing hot disco offering that made no bones about the fact that the WITCH was ready to get down. Composer/vocalist Stanford Tembo’s mid-tempo burner “You Are My Sunshine” was the perfect fit for the flip.

Documenting the band’s drift from disco into boogie, WITCH’s final album Kuomboka was released in 1983 without an accompanying single. New lead vocalist Patrick Chisembele injected youthful energy and a modern soul edge, most notably on “Erotic Delight” with its crisp drums, slinky keys and intoxicating bass groove. Pop reggae was also within the album’s stylistic purview by way of the closer “Jah Let the Sunshine” as well as “Change of a Feeling,” the flip side of a recently discovered single that wasn’t originally released.

Mastered from the original analog tapes for the very first time, SHARP-FLAT brings you the WITCH DISCO SINGLES as you’ve never heard them before. From Movin’ On, WIT 4 presents a single edit of “My Desire” backed with “You Are My Sunshine.” From the Kuomboka sessions, WIT 5 presents a single edit of “Erotic Delight” backed with “Change of a Feeling,” an unheard WITCH track released for the very first time in 2021.

Vocals – Patrick Chisembele
Guitar & Backing Vocals – Chris Mbewe
Guitar – Emmanuel Makulu
Fender Bass – Gedeon Mulenga
Drums – Peter Lungo
Synthesisers & Electric Piano – Patrick Mwondela
Backing Vocals & Percussion – Shaddick Bwalya

Guest Musicians
Brass by Real Sound Horns
Vocals – Abi Rusike & Benny Miller
Backing Vocals – Rusike Brothers

Produced by Shaddick Bwalya & Richard Nganga
Recorded at Shed Studios in Harare, Zimbabwe
Engineered by Steve Roskilly

Produced for Reissue by Calum MacNaughton
Design & Layout – Ash Pederick
Audio Mastering – Morten McCoy

Recorded in 1983
2021 Edition by SHARP-FLAT with Rebel Disko
Under License from WITCH

Допълнителна информация



Erotic Delight / Change Of A Feeling


Каталожен номер




Формат на изданието


Описание на формата


Дата на издаване

December 30, 2021