Posted in Features

We Can’t Get Enough: Another 10 Reissues Of The Decade 2010-2019

Every music aficionado, either consciously or unconsciously, is frequently gravitating towards the background of a particular favourite genre , band, artists. And not to mention the perpetuating trend of reinterpreting older musical achievements in a contemporary context.

Nevertheless, it takes no music business insider to note that in the past ten or so years, there has been an increasing demand for music from the past on vinyl. We think that this trend strongly correlates to the so-called “vinyl revival”, if not directly influencing/influenced by it but also to a certain apotheosis in the development of the crate-digging culture.

In the following selection we are presenting a (non-definitive) list of our selection of the best reissues for the past decade, entirely subjective and at the same time based on some sales stats. The releases are listed in the alphabetical order of their title. Enjoy reading it.

This feature is influenced and meant to complement the excellent list on Resident Advisor RA: 2010-19: Reissues Of The Decade.

Eiji Nakayama ‎– Aya’s Samba

Originally released on Johnny’s Disk Record in 1978.

Reissued on Studio Mule in 2019.

“Aya’s Samba” is the debut album effort by the bassist Eiji Nakayama and his band. Originally it is the inaugurating release of the now legendary Johnny’s Disk label out of Japan and is said to inspired the birth of the label.

This mellow jazz samba in minor tonality is nothing less of a jazz masterpiece.

Various – Club Meduse

Compiled by Charles Bals.

Contains tracks from the 70s, 80s and 90s.

Published in 2018 by Spacetalk.

A diverse selection of tracks under the common theme of bringing the summer atmosphere of the Côte D’Azur in its golden age.

Lovely work by Charles Bals that brings the particular sense of “je ne sais quoi” that you may feel like a magical smoothness and evocative sultriness. In some way it is perhaps better than mingling around the Côte D’Azur.

Various – Fingertracks : Vol 1

Compiled by Andrew Hogge (Lovefingers).

Contains tracks from the 70s, 80s and 90s.

Published in 2019 by ESP Institute.

Long before the vinyl revival there were still crate diggers that were also eager to share their findings with fellows. One of them was Andrew Hogge who did that in his blog in the 2000s.

Italo, post-rock, tribal, Leftfield electronica, you name it, Andrew knows it and this compilation is the perfect commemoration of the now defunct blog.

Fernando Falcão – Memória Das Águas

Originally released on Poitou in 1981.

Reissued on Optimo Music / Selva Discos in 2019.

Fernando Falcão – Barracas Barrocas

Originally released on Carmo in 1987.

Reissued on Optimo Music / Selva Discos in 2019.

Fernando Falcão was a Brazilian musician that exiled in France for 15 years after participating in the anti-regime movement at the end of the 60s in Brazil.

Thus both albums carry an homage to the rhythmic and warm grooves of his home country combined with the avant-garde and jazzy charm from the European continent.

You will also hear the balauê and engulf in a rich atmosphere both close to the nature and to cinematic experiences.

Various – Mogadisco – Dancing In Mogadishu (Somalia ’72-91)

Compiled by Samy Ben Redjeb.

Published by Analog Africa in 2019.

Wonderful work of Analog Africa, Samy Ben Redjeb and his collaborators in the Radio Mogadishu archives, bringing to a new life and literary saving a legacy of recording from a golden era of the music in this town.

The magnificent grooves of Dur Dur Band and Iftin Band amongst others surely deserves the time, effort and discomforting situations and when you hear them you will be at least so thankful as we are.

Various – Napoli Segreta Volume 1

Compiled by Nu Guinea, DNApoli, Famiglia Discocristiana.

Contains tracks from the 70s and 80s..

Published in 2018 by Early Sounds Recordings and NG Records.

A volcanic eruption of 70’s and 80’s Neapolitan disco and funk, enriched with beautiful vocals.

A tremendous amount of the compilers that unearthed forgotten gems from the flea markets and served it in true Napoli fashion to us.

Grauzone – Eisbär

Originally released by Off Course Records in 1981.

Grauzone – Raum

Originally released on “Swiss Wave The Album” by Off Course Records in 1980.

Reissued in 2019 by We Release Whatever The Fuck We Want Records.

Grauzone was a Swiss band that brought to charts a raw and energetic new wave to the charts and at the same time remained underground as DIY truly demands.

A few of their tracks presented on these two reissues remained a staple in post-punk aficionados collections, techno and goth DJs and fans of the 80s music. Essential!

Saâda Bonaire – Saâda Bonaire

Produced in 1984, unreleased.

Published in 2013 by Captured Tracks.

Nobody knows how the stars aligned in the early 80s but the Bremen DJ Ralph “Von” Richthoven assembled an endowed collective with two vocalists and a whole bunch of immigrants-musicians.

Their only release at the time was a three-track EP but the whole work is a stunning disco world synth-pop resembling and at the same totally different from everything else.

Various – The Minimal Wave Tapes Volume 1

Tracks from the end of the 70s and the early 80s.

Compiled by Veronica Vasicka and Peanut Butter Wolf.

Published in 2010 by Stones Throw Records.

Again, a spectacular compilation work of a genre that has so much to give to the world and gaining new fans regularly.

That’s the compilation that paved the way for many reissues of the talented and pioneering work of DIY musicians and collectives in genres usually known as “post-punk”, “minimal wave”, “cold wave”, “industrial”, “EBM”, “synth pop”.

ススム ヨコタ (Susumu Yokota) – 赤富士 (‎Acid Mt. Fuji)

Originally released on CD in 1994 by Sublime Records.

Reissued in 2018 by Midgar Records.

One of the first works of the late Susumu Yokota, a Japanese experimental-ambient-acid-techno masterpiece.

This album is crossing genres and territories in an amalgamation of sounds that only the most capable of producers achieve.

Honorary Mentions

And here are two bonus records, that will intrigue music lovers for years to come.

Om Buschman – Total

Originally released by High-Fine Music in 1988.

Original copies found in a warehouse in 2019 by the label Glossy Mistakes.

A fantastic tropical tribal polyrhythmic excursion on LP, that started the journey of the Glossy Mistakes label in the most exciting of ways.

The people behind the label discovered brand new stock that was not distributed to shops back in the days, so a few lucky people got new copies of an impossible to find album. And a flying start for the label that continues to amaze with their releases.

Various ‎– Magic Carpet : Contemporary Music 1982-1994

Compiled by Josè Manuel.

Published in 2019.

At the time of writing this compilation still remains a secret treasure chest full of ambient, downtempo and new age sounds.

Each track is part of a universe that can be reached only with this magic carpet.

Start typing and press Enter to search

Generic filters
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in excerpt
Shopping Cart