A1: Kinder der Sonne – Intro (00:04:01)

A2: Verlauf (00:03:42)

A3: Die Untergründigen (00:08:17)

B1: Sehnsuchtsvoll (00:07:32)

B2: Ungewissheit im Sinus (00:06:10)

B3: Kinder der Sonne – Reprise (00:06:30)

C1: Unwohl (00:03:01)

C2: Sehnsuchtsvoll – Reverso (00:06:51)

C3: Ungewiss (00:06:40)

D1: Aufstand (00:05:25)

D2: Virus (00:05:01)

D3: Son (00:01:09)

D4: Nie anhaltender Strom (00:05:52)

Release Note:

NOTON is pleased to announce the release of Kinder der Sonne, the

new album by Alva Noto featuring music composed for the score of the

theater piece Komplizen by Simon Stone.

The title comes from Maxim Gorky’s play Children of the Sun, written in

the context of the 1905 Russian Revolution. Simon Stone wrote the new

play for the Burgtheater ensemble based on this drama.

The single Die Untergründigen unveils a romantic space, charting a

sublime path with a new depth of harmonics and vibrant color. Piano

phrases, extant yet ghostly, intersect layers upon layers of confluent

warmth and cold digital sounds towering and mysterious despite their

wispy forms. Intricately arranged, these textures fill the space at any

time, fittingly evoking flux as if they were conceived and recorded on a

slow ride across the ocean.

Across fourteen compositions, Alva Noto’s Kinder der Sonne takes the

listener into a sonic journey of emotional tension and release, revealing

a particular kind of sci-fi lust fused with a satisfying suite of modern,

minimalist, minimalist ambient classical

Additional information



Kinder der Sonne


Catalog #


Release Format


Format Description

2 x LP

Release Date

May 05, 2023