The debut album from Marc Almond and Dave Ball AKA Soft is truly an icon of electronic music. Not only did ‘Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret’ introduce the world to classic singles ‘Tainted Love’ (one of the biggest global hits of all time) ‘Bedsitter’ and ‘Say Hello Wave Goodbye’, it also shocked and delighted in equal measure with a 10-track song cycle straight outta the seedier, sleazier, darker side of life. ‘Sex Dwarf’, ‘Frustration’, ‘My Secret Life’, ‘Seedy Films’… four decades on, it still has the power to thrill, shock and swoon. Available as 6CD Super Deluxe Edition and 2LP Black Vinyl Edition. The 6CD Super Deluxe Edition contains: CD1: ‘Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret’. Disc one features the album, newly remastered in 2023 by Barry Grint plus all of its attendant single 7” versions of the A and B sides from the era, including ‘Torch’ and ‘What!’, the band’s first ever Phonogram single ‘A Man Could Get Lost’ / ‘Memorabilia’ (produced by Mute’s Daniel Miller) and contemporary edits of ‘Fun City’ and ‘Persuasion’, only released on 12” at the time. CD2: ‘Non-Stop Extended Cabaret’ contains the entire album in extended 12” form, made up from Dave Ball’s studio reworkings of the album created only using the original studio parts. CD3: ‘Non-Stop Eclectic Cabaret’ is a treasure trove of rarities. Alongside a new 2023 Tainted Love’ rework are BBC session highlights, choice remixes from 2005’s ‘Heat: The Remixes”, including Richard X’s legendary take of ‘Seedy Films’, and a selection of demos, outtakes and audio from BBC TV and radio appearances on The Richard Skinner Show’, ‘The Old Grey Whistle Test’, ‘Top Of The Pops / Top Of The Pops 2’ and ‘The Oxford Road Show’. CD4: ‘Non-Stop Instrumental Cabaret’ presents the album in its full instrumental glory for the first time plus 6 original ‘Non-Stop’ demos, 5 of which are previously unreleased. These demos include an 11th hour archive unearthing of the first version of ‘Sex Dwarf’ set down on tape. CD5: ‘Non-Stop Original Cabaret’ brings together the original iconic 12” single A and B-sides of 1981 – 1982 ‘Cabaret’-era Soft Cell including ‘Memorabilia’, ‘Tainted Love’, ‘Say Hello Wave Goodbye’, and the standalone smashes ‘Torch’ and ‘What!’ Finally, CD6: ‘Non-Stop Intimate Cabaret’ includes the album played in full, plus ‘Torch’ and ‘Memorabilia’, live at Soft Cell’s triumphant ‘Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret… And Other Stories’ shows in November 2021 recorded at Hammersmith’s Eventim Apollo. The disc – and collection – are rounded off with ‘Insecure Me’, ‘What!’ and ‘Tainted Love’ from London’s O2 Arena, recorded in September 2018. Also included in the beautifully presented package are an extensive essay on the story of the album by Adrian Thrills, including new interviews with Marc and Dave. There are full song lyrics, contemporary photography, album and single sleeve scans and compiler’s credits from Chris Smith. The 2LP Black Vinyl Edition contains: This new 2LP version of the album has been newly remastered in 2023 by Barry Grint and comes supplemented with the single A and B sides from the 1981 / 1982 era, including ‘Memorabilia’, ‘A Man Can Get Lost’, ’Torch’ and ‘What!’. Deluxe gatefold version of the album includes full song lyrics plus essay by Adrian Thrills based on new interviews with Marc Almond and Dave Ball.

Additional information



Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret


Catalog #


Release Format

2 x LP

Format Description

2 x LP

Release Date

October 20, 2023