環境音楽 = Kankyō Ongaku (Japanese Ambient, Environmental & New Age Music 1980 – 1990)

Light In The Attic

In stock

84.00 Vinyl, Box Set

Boxset, 3 x LP compilation, booklet, sealed.

In stock

Add to wantlist
Add to wantlist

An unprecedented overview of Japan’s vital minimal, ambient, avant-garde, and New Age music – what can collectively be described as kanky ongaku, or environmental music.

The collection features internationally acclaimed artists such as Haruomi Hosono, Ryuichi Sakamoto and Joe Hisaishi, as well as other pioneers like Hiroshi Yoshimura, Yoshio Ojima and Satoshi Ashikawa, who deserve a place alongside the indisputable giants of these genres.

In the 1970s, the concepts of Brian Eno’s “ambient” and Erik Satie’s “furniture music” began to take hold in the minds of artists and musicians around Tokyo. Emerging fields like soundscape design and architectural acoustics opened up new ways in which sound and music could be consumed. For artists like Yoshimura, Ojima and Ashikawa, these ideas became the foundation for their musical works, which were heard not only on records and in live performances, but also within public and private spaces where they intermingled with the sounds and environments of everyday life. The bubble economy of 1980s Japan also had a hand in the advancement of kankyō ongaku. In an attempt to cultivate an image of sophisticated lifestyle, corporations with expendable income bankrolled various art and music initiatives, which opened up new and unorthodox ways in which artists could integrate their avant-garde musical forms into everyday life: in-store music for Muji, promo LP for a Sanyo AC unit, a Seiko watch advert, among others that can be heard in this collection.

Kankyyo Ongaku is expertly compiled by Spencer Doran (Visible Cloaks) who, with a series of revelatory mixtapes as well as his label Empire of Signs (Music For Nine Postcards), has been instrumental in shepherding interest in this music outside of Japan. Together with Light In The Attic’s celebrated anthologies I Am The Center and The Microcosm, Kankyō Ongaku helps to broaden our understanding of this quietly profound music, regardless of the environment in which it’s heard.

Full tracklist:

Still Space – Satoshi Ashikawa
Glass Chattering – Yoshio Ojima
Nemureru Yoru (Karaoke Version) – Hideki Matsutake
Islander – Joe Hisaishi
Ear Dreamin’ – Yoshiaki Ochi
Variation III – Masashi Kitamura + Phonogenix
Park – Interior
Nube – Yoichiro Yoshikawa
Meet Me In The Sheep Meadow – Yoshio Suzuki
Ishiura (abridged) – Toshi Tsuchitori
Tomoshibi (abridged) – Shiho Yabuki
Chaconne – Toshifumi Hinata
Seiko 3 – Yasuaki Shimizu
Apple Star – Inoyama Land
Blink – Hiroshi Yoshimura
See The Light (abridged) – Fumio Miyashita
Praying For Mother / Earth Part 1 – Akira Ito
Breathing New Life – Jun Fukamachi
Snow – Takashi Toyoda
Loom – Yellow Magic Orchestra
A Dream Sails Out To Sea – Scene 3 – Takashi Kokubo
Umi No Sunatsubu – Masahiro Sugaya
Original BGM – Haruomi Hosono
Nagareru – Ayuo Takahashi (LP Only)
Dolphins – Ryuichi Sakamoto (LP Only)

Weight1000 g


環境音楽 = Kankyō Ongaku (Japanese Ambient, Environmental & New Age Music 1980 – 1990)


Catalog #




Release Format


Release Type


Format Description

Vinyl, Box Set

Release Date

January 31, 2019

Start typing and press Enter to search

Generic filters
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in excerpt
Shopping Cart