Price TBA

– Limited Vinyl Box Set including 6x blue vinyl & download code


1. (A1) Stephen Brown – Level Steps (DE-Q20-22-00026)

2. (B1) Claude VonStroke – Moody Fuse (DE-Q20-22-00027)

3. (C1) Denis Horvat – Monomono (DE-Q20-22-00028)

4. (D1) Daniel Avery – Your Future Looks Different In The Light (DE-Q20-22-00029)

5. (E1) Jeroen Search – Subversive Elements (DE-Q20-22-00030)

6. (F1) Marco Bailey – Kanai (DE-Q20-22-00031)

7. (G1) Damiano Von Erckert – 500 People, 500 Hearts, 1 Love (DE-Q20-22-00032)

8. (H1) YOKTO – Vision99 (DE-Q20-22-00033)

9. (I1) Jonathan Kaspar – CCC (DE-Q20-22-00034)

10. (J1) The Emperor Machine – The Art Of Electronics (DE-Q20-22-00035)

11. (K1) Carl Finlow – Surface Control (DE-Q20-22-00036)

12. (L1) DeFeKT – Terraform (DE-Q20-22-00037)

Release Info:

Cocoon Recordings presents: Cocoon Compilation T

Another year, another expertly curated compilation touches down courtesy of Cocoon

Recordings. Somehow, the world keeps turning and with it the Cocoon universe keeps

expanding, causing subtle yet persuasive shifts in the sonic soundscape that continue to

capture and captivate the imagination. In time-honored tradition the old guard and the new

combine with devastating effect, to define the current state of play…

Veteran Techno producer Stephen Brown makes it clear the compilation series is back with a bang,

opening things up in epic fashion with the lucid dreamscape ‘Level Steps’ – a true work of art. Another

heavy-weight hitter steps straight up in the form of Claude von Stroke, who adds his own unique

swagger to proceedings with those trademark shuffling beats and freaky, hypnotic bleeps scuffling for

dominance on ‘Moody Fuse’. Denis Horvat then slows things down on ‘Monomono’, with post-raveNew Release Information

abstractions and disobedient synth-patches causing mayhem before the track finally unfolds in all its

terrifying beauty.

Motoring on, the collection wastes no time reaching that familiar tipping point as we enter the techno

phase of the journey. A very special appearance from Daniel Avery makes it all the more worthwhile

amid a dense forest of chiming melodies and blistering electrical surges on ‘Your Future Looks

Different In The Light’, before Jeroen Search’s aptly titled ‘Subversive Elements’ lead us deeper and

deeper, into the matrix.

Marco Bailey then kicks off a triptych of trance with some massive filtered piano action

on ‘Kanai’ that’s destined to trigger a serotonin smile with everyone it touches. Revisiting the huge,

ever-growing pulsating brain of planet Orb, Damiano van Erckert continues the loved-up vibe on the

gorgeously titled ‘500 People 500 Hearts 1 Love’, expertly complimenting the classic ambience with

some slick 909 snare and cymbal interplay. The melodic pull of ‘Vision99’ then signifies that the party

is peaking at just the right moment as YOKTO concocts a glistening, psychedelic groove. The

emotional resonance climbs ever higher with brittle melodies endlessly circling a lush, throbbing bass

drone to create the sense of something stirring out of reach.

Just when you think the acid sound is done and dusted, up pops a track like Jonathan Kaspar’s ‘CCC’

that somehow manages to offer an entirely new perspective. Riding in on a wave of expectant

arpeggios, the squelching bass and noise filter go toe to toe before Kaspar gets busy with a freaky

tempo excursion that’ll be destroying dance floors all year long. ‘The Art of Electronics’ is, as the title

suggests, another superlative example of pure analogue fire, served up by UK legend, Andrew

Meecham aka The Emperor Machine. The funk starts to flow as the bass drops, the machines cut

loose and a swarm of cascading bleeps ride the trans-europa express to oblivion.

Electro overlord Carl Finlow, has come to define the UK take on the genre over the last couple of

decades. Here, he makes his long overdue label debut, taking us into the closing straight with a

nervous sliver of dystopian futurism, complete with molten basslines and a fuzzy logic that underpins

the tight, laser-guided groove on ‘Surface Control’. DeFeKT then draws this great adventure to a close

with the deliciously dark robo-disco overtones of ‘Terraform’ creating a dusky landscape that skillfully

seduces the listener before the tension finally breaks in a wash of ecstatic chords.

All in all, it’s a supremely ambitious collection of tracks, generously featuring some of the most

inspirational and durable artists of their respective generations. In fact, is this perhaps the best Cocoon

Compilation to date

Additional information



Cocoon Compilation T 6×12" boxset, LTD


Catalog #


Release Format


Format Description


Release Date

August 05, 2022