Mr Bongo Record Club Volume Four

Mr Bongo

In stock


In stock

Add to wantlist
Add to wantlist

Black vinyl, 2 x LP compilation, full colour sleeve, sealed.

Curating the tracks for a Mr Bongo Record Club compilation is always such a pleasure. At a time when the expression “Music is My Sanctuary” has an even greater cathartic impact for many people, we set out to make this volume an extra special one – like an old favourite mixtape or playlist.

For Volume 4 in this series, we continue in the same mould as with previous editions, selecting current favourites and rare lost gems from the Brazilian, African, soul, funk, and disco genres. We present tracks from artists such as Azwon, Cindy & The Playmates, and Zé Roberto to name just a few. However, one main departure and progression to this edition is the first time inclusion of recordings by contemporary artists. These come from Matthew Tavares (of BADBADNOTGOOD fame), Wax Machine, and DJ Format & The Simonsound, which were originally featured on either limited private press vinyl releases or were previously only available digitally. We felt their inclusion was important and wanted to share these wonderful discoveries with a wider audience. They also complement, enrich, and fit perfectly with the flow and journey of the compilation.

Support from Hunee, Antal, DJ Marky, Volcov, Jazzanova, J Rocc, Carlos Nino, Laurent Garnier, Benji B and many more.

Here at Mr Bongo we hope you will enjoy this selection of seventeen eclectic songs (in tempo and style) as much as we do, whether they make you move your feet, take you on a trip somewhere, or trigger a happy memory.

Released on 20/11/20 on double vinyl and CD with artwork illustration by Nicolas Burrows.

1. The Modern Tropical Quintet – Midnight in Moscow /
2. James Reese & The Progressions – Throwing Stones (Kenny Dope Mix) /
3. Cindy & The Playmates – Don’t Stop This Train /
4. Carnival – Eyes Growing Wider /
5. Azwon – Paradise Island /
6. Carlos Puebla And Santiago Martinez And Pedro Sosa – Sun Sun Damba E /
7. Pepe Sanchez – Sentimiento /
8. DJ Format & The Simon Sound – The Peruvian /
9. Hamlet Minassian – Al Elnim /
10. Idrissa Soumaoro, L´Eclipse De L´ I.J.A. – Nissodia (Mike D Remix) /
11. Teaspoon Ndelu – Sputla /
12. The Mombasa Vikings – Mama Matotoya /
13. Lincoln – Amanhã O Tempo Muda /
14. Don Ricardo – Sonho Lindo /
15. Zé Roberto – Lotus 72 D (Fast) /
16. Wax Machine – Extralude (Wyndham Earl’s More Than-An-Interlude Remix) /
17. Matty (Matthew Tavares) – Selfportrait



Keep up to date with the latest records, recommendations and offers from us.

We will never sell or abuse your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time using the link at the bottom of every newsletter email. More information about how we treat your data is available in our Privacy Policy.

Weight450 g


Mr Bongo Record Club Volume Four


Catalog #



, ,

Release Format


Release Type


Format Description


Release Date

November 20, 2020

Start typing and press Enter to search

Search artists, titles, labels, catalogue numbers
Generic filters
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in excerpt
Shopping Cart