Zeca Do Trombone (Ft. Azymuth)



Pre-order item. Expected on or around: 03-12-2021

25.80 LP

Pre-order item. Expected on or around: 03-12-2021

- +
Add to wantlist
Add to wantlist

Email me when available

ALT012 ,

Mainly known to DJs for the funk groover “Te Queria”, Rota-Mar is the first solo album by the charismatic Zéca do Trombone. During a vertiginous career which started in the late 60s, Zéca was a permanent member of Wilson Simonal’s band, toured with Luiz Eça’s Sagrada Família (alongside Joyce, Naná Vasconcelos, Nelson Angelo and others), recorded the seminal Brazilian funk “Coluna do Meio” for his joint effort with Roberto Sax, and played and recorded for some of the big names of Brazilian music such as Tim Maia or Martinho da Vila. Particularly for samba artists such as Alcione, Leci Brandão or Moreira da Silva, Zéca do Trombone was the trombonist of choice.
Rota-Mar displays the work of an established musician who has nothing to prove. Impregnated with Zéca’s characteristic voice, the songs draw inspiration from the sea, love and bohemian life, and let us all dream of what life in Rio the Janeiro was during that time. “Te Queria”, penned by Zéca’s childhood friend Elízio de Búzios (known for his highly collectable funk/boogie single “Tamanqueiro”) is the obvious highlight, although we believe the real beauty of the album lies in the relaxed sea-side groove and MPB in the rest of the songs, including Zéca’s superb take on Martinho da Vila’s “Manteiga de Garrafa”.
As bonus tracks to this reissue, we include both sides from Zéca’s rare 1977 single, featuring the allmighty trio Azymuth.
Comes with an 8-page booklet with bilingual (Portuguese / English) liner notes by Brazilian journalist Marcelo Pinheiro and previously unpublished pictures from the artist’s archive.
* First time reissue of Brazilian MPB album by well-established artist
* Two bonus tracks from rare 1977 single featuring Azymuth.
* Includes the killer “Te Queria”, well known to DJs and previously compiled in Ed Motta’s “Too Slow To Disco”
* With 8-page booklet, bilingual liner notes by Brazilian journalist Marcelo Pinheiro and previously unpublished pictures
01: Rota-Mar
02: Gávea Um Beijo De Cinema
03: Exílio De Coração
04: Em Busca De Mim
05: Boa Nova
06: Manteiga De Garrafa
07: Ave Anne (feat. Azymuth)
08: Papo Coração
09: Alô Brasil
10: Navegante Só
11: Te Queria
12: Grito da Pele
13: Pastores da Noite
14: Tema Do Brisa (feat. Azymuth)



Keep up to date with the latest records, recommendations and offers from us.

We will never sell or abuse your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time using the link at the bottom of every newsletter email. More information about how we treat your data is available in our Privacy Policy.

Weight250 g




Catalog #


Release Format


Release Type


Format Description


Release Date

November 26, 2021

Start typing and press Enter to search

Search artists, titles, labels, catalogue numbers
Generic filters
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in excerpt
Shopping Cart